Leon, Guanajuato – Footwear and Shoe Industry contacts

21 06 2006

I live in Leon, Guanajuato, Mexico….which might mean nothing to you unless you are involved in the leather industry or shoe business. Leon is home to the majority of the leather tanneries and shoe factories in Mexico.

For those of you seeking industry contacts, here is a brief list of links to the major shoe related organizations in Mexico.

SAPICA

The biggest and most important international shoe fair in Mexico. Held two times per year. Spring/Summer and Fall/Winter.

CICEG

The Mexican Shoe Association in the State of Guanajuato.

ANPIC

The National Association of Suppliers for the Footware Industry.
COFOCE

If you want to find reliable exporters of shoes, leather, and leather goods contact COFOCE. Highly recommended.

State Government of Guanajuato

Good overview of the State of Guanajuato, business opportunities and contact information for government and industry.

For more information or consulting assistance, do not hesitate to contact me.

Related Link: Mexican Shoe Manufacturing on Squidoo

Actions

Information

67 responses

3 05 2007
Dave Johnson

Hello,
I am interested in locating a factory capable of making quality ladies sandals in Mexico. I currently import most of my shoes from Italy. If you have factroy suggestions or ideas on whom I may contact it would be appreciated.

Sincerely,
Dave Johnson

22 07 2007
Eli Yanez

Hello,
I am in the beginning stages of opening a retail store and am looking for quality leather products that can be exported to the US. Any information on any products will be highly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Eli Yanez

26 10 2007
Carlos Alcala

Hello,

Myself and my partner are starting a new line of shoes in Los Angeles, C.A.. We have contracts with several artist such as; Babybash, Paul Wall, Paula Deannda, Mims, Stooie Bros., Donna Summers Son, some NFL Players and More. I am looking for a factory that can make our product soon due to some of our promoters will be having some concerts, interviews, award shows, etc. they will be attending. Any contacts for a great shoe Factory will be greatly appreciated. I have some friends who own Cadengito suellas y moldes in Leon but they are very busy and hard to get a hold of.

Sincerely,
Carlos A. Alcala

29 10 2007
Pat Hackett

I have a customer that is marketing a patented ankle support and is now looking for a factory that can inset it into a basketball shoe.
His company has drawn designs and he just needs to be put in touch with the right factory. Can you help? Pat Hackett, Midwest Enterprises Inc.

2 11 2007
hugo chabala

i think of entering the shoe making industry, i need expert help, on processes. materials. suppliers and all

15 12 2007
Jim Ross

Hell I am living in Leon and I have been making shoes since 1985 if you need help please contact me, and I can provide information and assistance. My e-mail is jimrossy@hotmail.com. I can send photos of my past work, and I have experience in most manufacturing processes. I majored in chemical engineering at the University of Texas A & M. I have worked here in Leon for over 6 years, and before that I worked in France with Xavier Clergerie (the son of Robert Clergerie) and in South Korea working on athletic shoes.

25 05 2008
Doran Santiago Ramos

I am looking for a job in Leon, I have been in the industry for over ten years, with over five years management. I was wondering if you would have any suggestions on jobs in Leon, my spanish is rusty but my family is from there. I have a resume and i hoping you were able to guild me. Thanks

26 06 2008
William Bentley

Hello Lee, I am looking for a high end shoe manufacture in Leon that is able to produce monthly quantities of 1000 shoes. My product needs to have materials of the highest quality. Lastly, the design of our shoes will be constantly changing in color, materials, and simple alterations to the base structure. These manufacturers need to be very up to date and versatile. Thank You

14 07 2008
MARYGAIL SULLIVAN

Hi Pat,

This is Deedee Sullivan. I saw (& met Phoebe Snow last sunday & have been thinking of you so much more (than usual), so I googles you & Pat on the web. This is as far as I’ve gotten so far. I tried your old (we won’t say how old) phone numbers–to no avail. This chat room has to do with shoes and the Midwest, so I thought that I’d give it a try. If you are Patricia Beehner/Hackett, please get a hold of me. 503-735-0204. I’ve just been missing you & appreciating the many gifts that our friendship brought into my life.

Gratefully yours,
Deed/MaryGail

9 08 2008
Parveen Jakhar

Hello,

I have done Post Graduation in Footwear Tech. and Management fron FDDI(INDIA). Rtght now working with a Footwear Component Unit based in Gurgaon (INDIA) as a Merchandiser and Productivity Incharge.

I am looking for a Responsible Footwear job outside INDIA.

Please contact me on my mailing address, I will not let you down ever.

Parveen Jakhar
jakhar_parveen@yahoo.co.in

23 02 2009
Teri Bethel

Hi I’m looking for a company that can manufacture ladies high fashion footwear using my hand painted fabrics.

Thanks.

14 05 2009
elizabeth Gonzalez

hello
i have a mexican imports store and i am looking for some leather shoes for my store to sale and i wanted to see if you have any information on importing shoes to the u.s. from Leon GTO. I too am from Dolores Hidalgo GTO. but there is no factorys there im wondering if you could help me find some Factories from Leon GTO that are willing to send Leather Shoes over to the u.s. please contact me thank you
Elizabeth

26 05 2009
Chris

My Name Is Chris, we are the largest producers of Emu in the US. We are trying to find a buyer for our Emu Leggins. They are an exotic leather and are exquisite on shoes, boots, etc. Contact me for pictures and info. thank you.

21 10 2009
Marie Aceves

I’m looking to manufacture a shoe line and would like to manufactue in Mexico. I would like to know if you can refer me to a contract manufacturer that can produce my shoe line and also has the capabilites of vulcanization. Furthermore, the contract manufacture must be well versed in leathers and canvus.
Thank you

29 12 2009
bren12342000

I have imported wedding gowns and evening wear from India and China in the past and would like to begin importing quality shoes from Mexico. Thank you.

18 01 2010
Sherry

Hello:
Is Leon the correct city to source handbag manufacturers in as well as shoes? It would be for suede and leather handbags and some regular fabrics. Please advise. Thank you, Sherry

11 02 2010
judith

i need help in finding work boots that are made in leon guanajuato mx.I have been looking everywhere in the internet for those boots. Please help look for the factory where they are manufactured. thank you

13 06 2010
Warren Jackson

Hello,
My partner and I are getting into the shoe industry and we are looking for a Company/Factory in Mexico that can provide safety shoes and boots. I need to know if they can also provide a cataloge on the safety shoes they produce.

2 07 2010
Philippe

Hi,
I am living and working in Mexico for a while and last winter I started I retail store of apparel in Cancun. I would like to expand the store by adding a collection of shoes.
Is it possible to find blank, brand-less shoes in Guanajuato?
and if there exists markets where you can buy them directly or do you have to buy them from the factories?

thank you for your help,
kind regards,

21 08 2010
eddie

Hi I’m looking for factories that can export leather hand bags (womens purses) to Canada. Would you know of any companies?

Thank You,

Eddie

31 08 2010
Claudio Gross

OLÁ, SOU BRAZILEIRO, SOU REPRESENTANTE DE CALÇADOS FEMININOS DE ALTA QUALIDADE, TENHO DISPONIVEL PARA EXPORTAR AS NOVAS LINHAS WERÃO 2010/11
PORTANTO CASO AJA INTERESSE EM COMPRAR MEUS CALÇADOS ENTRE EM CONTATO COMIGO, NO, EU PRIMEIRAMETE ENVIO FOTOS E POSTERIORMENTE ENVIO AMOSTRAS FISICAS,

23 09 2010
Angelica Negrete-Willborn

I will be in Leon the first week of November, I am looking for stores/factories where I can purchase folklorico dance shoes. Does anyone have any suggestions?

30 09 2010
Sean Vincent

Hello,
I’m looking for a factory that can produce high end womens bridal and evening shoes i mainly use [satins, silks and lace] i will be selling my collection online and in specialty boutiques in New York City where I’m baseed.

Sincerely,

Sean Vincent

30 09 2010
Sean Vincent

Hello,
I’m looking for a factory that can produce high end womens bridal and evening shoes i mainly use [satins, silks and lace] i will be selling my collection online and in specialty boutiques in New York City where I’m based.

Sincerely,

Sean Vincent

25 11 2010
GIOVANNI

sono un modellista di calzature Italiani e vorrei lavorare con delle aziende Messicane.

25 12 2010
cecelia gonzalez

I would like to start a shoe business that specializes in wide widths for women. Can you help me?
Thank You, Cecelia

3 01 2011
Mauricio Schwabe

Hola,
Tengo interes en exportar calzado mexicano para Brasil, podría ayudarme con fabricas, productos y formas de envío, yo tengo los clientes en Brasil con grande potencial de compra.

Aguardo su contestación

Gracias

7 01 2011
L&B

Hi, I live in Nigeria and I want a company that can produce shoes (casual & office), sandals and slippers for males, females and children.

Hope to hear from you.

Thank you

25 02 2011
jesus sanchez

puedo hacer un comentario muy compremetedor para mi yo soy de leon gto y radico en el edo de texas mis conocimientos es sobre las horma para zapatos en el ambito de modelos para calzado,en leon tengo muchos amigos que son fabricantes de zapatos ,de todos los estilos para damas caballeros jovenes ..etc, para deportes . en fin mi atrevimiento es buscar en grande un trabajo en donde por primera vez yo pueda demostrar lo que se puede hacer en cuestion de comercio internacional ,pero con la ayuda de los senores que decen este tipo de comercio , en leon gto, a otros lugares . .

6 04 2011
Geoff Smith

Dear Lee,

My wife and I currently manage a baby furniture import business in Australia using a large factory in Ho Chi Minh City. The cartons that the furniture is packed in is becoming heavier and harder to handle. We are considering selling the business to concentrate on smaller products such as shoes. We are both golfers and my wife has purchased 8 pair of golf shoes manufactured in Mexico and go by the brand name of ‘Sand-Baggers’. Can you please advise us what factory in Mexico produce the shoes so that we may contact them with a view to have shoes manufactured in our own brand name.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Smith

17 05 2011
Dierdre Wallace

Dear Mr. Iwan,

Hope you are well.

I am a shoe designer that recently started a line for women’s high fashion heels. I am looking for a new ODM factory who are open to do small order quantities. If you have any leads I would be much obliged.

Best,

Dierdre

17 05 2011
/Dennis A

Good afternoon I am hoping you can help me with what I am looking for. I am looking for a manufacturer of leather goods in particular Bible covers or bags. If you can help me or tell me where to it would be of great help. I am looking to buy frequently and in big quantaties.

thank you

dennis

11 07 2011
Grecia Val Gon

Dear Lee,

Thank you for providing your shoe industry contacts to us. I am a shoe designer from LA who has never had any of my work actually manufactured. I’m hoping you could give me some advice on the first steps I should be taking… your help will be greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Grecia

16 08 2011
Rosa Garcia

I am interested in receiving information on any companies that may import footwear to the US. Would really like some type of listing or website that I can refer to. Thank you.

17 08 2011
John c

Thanks for the tips. In Mexico currently looking for manufactures. Will be in leon shortly. I have very limited spanish I am hoping that most companies that are interested in exporting will have someone that has goodenough English to nitpic the details?

6 09 2011
david mccann

hello,i am looking for a manufacturer of bags to make some custom designs for me,either in guanajato or guadalajara.i have found some,but it seems difficult to get through sometimes.it doesnt have to be a huge company.
sioncerely
david mccann

24 09 2011
Janet Halada

Here are two links to an oral history of one of the best shoe makers in the world. I knew this guy who went by the name of Barney Charest rather than Bernard Charest. He grew up in Lewiston, Maine, the same town as I did. We were not close friends but I remember him as being a really nice guy of 18 or 19 back around 1960. Lewiston, Maine was possibly THE major shoe manufacturing city in the USA and apprently he was one of the best, who he says was taught by 2 of the best. It’s a very interesting oral history of the shoe industry and a talented man that traveled the world teaching his craft. The first site is the pdf document of the taped interview and the second is the actual audio tapes.
The documentry was made in 2007 and Barney died in 2009. You can kind of tell from the audio tape that he was not well even in 2007. I currently live in Ajijic, Mexico and was very interested in knowing that Barney was sent to Leon for a few months to get a manufacturer organized. He then returned back to Lewiston and Mr. Corelli who owned the business called two weeks later and implored Barney to return. Barney ended up spending 4 1/2 years in Leon teaching and operating Mr. Corelli’s shop of over 400 employees. In the pdf document the name of the town (Leon) say its not audible but it certainly is on the voice recording. I know all you leather craft men who are proud of your as proud of your craft as he was, will appreciate this 22 page documentry.

Janet
http://shoeexhibit.museumla.org/transcripts/swoh001.pdf

http://shoeexhibit.museumla.org/detail.asp?id=1&TB_iframe=true&height=550&width=900&modal=true

25 09 2011
khaleel

I AM INTERESTED IN ANY COMPANIES WHO IMPORT SHEEP UPPER LEATHER FOR MEN & LADIES SHOES.
KINDLY HELP US BY INFORMING IF ANY COMPANIES ARE IN NEED OF SHEEP LEATHERS IN ANY PART OF THE WORLD

SINCERELY
KHALEEL,,

28 09 2011
Leather Handbags

Thanks for the industry contacts. May come in useful for leather handbags.

18 10 2011
Anne King

I wish to purchase leather bags, and belts etc from Leon in Mexico. Can anyone help by putting me in contact with a good manufacturer.

3 12 2011
Amanda

Hi I am looking for a shoe maker in Mexico who custom makes shoes, any colour, any size and any style.
thanks

23 01 2012
Dora

Hello Mr. Iwan,
I just came from La Barca, Mexico. I am really lost, stay at home mom and was just inspired by Mexicos’ motivation in business and outstanding balance of work and fun. I am Mexican-American and bilingual and just met with some family with extensive knowledge of the clothing business. However, I became passionate about starting my own business with emphasis on infant to children shoes. My family lacks knowledge of the shoe industry and all I know is that Guanajuato, Mexico is the place to go for quality leather shoes. My goal is to start up a small business which focuses on infant to children’s shoes in a “tiangis” in U.S. and expand from there. Can you please help me with resources, importing, and how you negotiate price?

Sincerely,
Dora

2 03 2012
sandy

I want to open a shoe store in the US. Can you direct me to suppliers. Thanks

17 03 2012
Kim

I am looking for a manufacturer in Mexico of high quality children’s footwear (soft soled and rubber bottomed shoes).

Thanks!

20 03 2012
guadalupe

ola busco la fabrica de zapatos filanto

9 04 2012
J. Morris

I’m looking for a custom shoe/boot maker that can accommodate large orders.

2 05 2012
Cpt. Canuk

I would like to solicit your expertise. Can you please contact me at my email addy.

9 05 2012
M. Islam

Working in leather sector – expeienced and reliable source for leather from asian sub-continent. Hope and look forward to work with North american countries.

28 09 2012
L Ramirez

Hello,
I would like to start a line of canvas shoes with our logo and need help finding a company/manufacture who can make them for us in Mexico and ship them to the US.

Please advise and recommend any manufacturing companies.

Thank you,

28 09 2012
Mauricio

With pleasure I can help with this project. I need to know more about the construction and type of sole they want to use, and also have a means of direct contact as an email address. I have really, speaking what they’re looking for. I await your feedback.

Sincerely Mauricio

29 09 2012
L Ramirez

Here is my email address
Manager@PreciousGemsz.com

Hope to hear from you soon.
Thank you,

30 09 2012
L. Ramirez

Hola Maurico, I also forgot to mention the bottom of shoe will be made of plastic material – what all canvas shoes are made of. Example: same material tom shoes are made of just with a more durable bottom.

Please email as soon as you can at Manager@Preciousgemsz.com
Thank you,

16 10 2012
R. Resendez

I have been tinkering with shoemaking for approximately 2.5 years and I am wanting to know the ins and outs of working with the Mexico industry. I know they have wonderful products with amazing talent and skill, when it comes to leather. I am considering starting a shoe line eventually but I am not quite sure where to start. I currently live in Dallas, TX. Any advice would be appreciated.

18 10 2012
Immigration Advice Hackney

Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing
a blog post or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we
could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested
feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!
Superb blog by the way!

15 02 2013
ANGIE ROBLES

MY NAME IS ANGIE I AM IN LOS ANGELES AND I AM LOKING FOR A MANUFACTURER EITHER IN GUANAJUATO OR GUADALAJARA. I NEED TO HAVE A VERY SIMPLE OPEN TOE SHOE THAT I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A LONG TIME BUT UNABLE TO FIND IT; THEREFORE I NEED TO HAVE IT MADE.
PLEASE E-MAIL ME WITH INFO. THANK YOU.

15 04 2013
Emil Thompson

Looking for sandal manufacturer in Mexico who can produce my designs in small to large quantities…. Please contact me at ( ooakifootwear@gmail.com )
Emil is my name / or ( 813 ) 638-1711

23 04 2013
Edenia

I am looking for a shoe (women’s flat) and a handbag manufacturer in Leon, Guanajuato.

Please let me know if you have a list of recommended manufacturers. I have tried contacting CICEG, but have been unsuccessful in locating someone.

Please email me.

Thank you.

30 04 2013
Olivia Sanchez

I want to open a store to sell stacy Baldwin shoes can you direct me to some manufacturers please thank-you Mrs. Sanchez

3 05 2013
Mauricio Schwabe

Hello, we are manufacturers of women’s shoes, if you are interested please send email to: mauricios@brasymex.com, thank you!

4 08 2013
miguel fernandez

anyone know a factory or even a small shop that can make me some leather stuff I plan on exporting my ideas to the usa and will like to try it out and see what happens so if anyone out there does know feel free to send me some phone numbers and names i speak spanish so for me is no problem communicating. thanks miguelfernandez560@hotmail.com. alguien que conozca alguna fabrica de piel en leon. me gustaria hacer el intento de comenzar un negocio en usa y me gustaria que alguien me mande nombres y telefonos de fabricas, no me importan si son chicas pero que sepan hacer lo que yo necesito. gracias. miguelfernandez560@hotmailcom

27 08 2013
khaleelur rahman

Hello shoe manufactures,designers and traders.we are manufacturer of RED HAIR sheep skin for mens and ladies shoes .customer’s who are interested
may contact us at tahareemambur@yahoo.com

24 01 2014
Nancy

Hi, I live in Canada and I am looking for a shoe maker in Mexico who custom makes women shoes, any colour, any size and any style I will provide. I am sure Mexico is the right place but I don’t know where to go exactly. Please let me know if you have the information at susynasr@hotmail.com I speak spanish as well. Thank you

26 01 2014
oyin

hi I will like to have shoe manufacturers for satin and silk evening and bridal shoes as well as a catalogue for this product. will appreciate quick responses on manufacturers. thank you

16 02 2014
Robert Dawson

Lee,, I am looking not only for a good handmade boot maker but one that can make old time throw over saddlebags for the older Harley Davidson motor cycles.. I plan on coming to Leon in a month or so.. Any direction I should take here.. Thank You Robert Dawson

25 02 2014
T. Morales

Hello
Looking for a boot manufacturer in Leon Mexico to make our own design cowboy/western boots and ship to us in the the U.S. Your help in this matter will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

22 04 2014
Emmanuel

Hello I am looking for a supplier of leather bags and sandals in Leon, Guanajuato. I am living in the us and I am looking for a supplier that exports to the us. My email address is zefus1735@hotmail.com.

17 07 2014
Xrl.Us

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about samy’s camera santa ana
ca. Regards

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

